Primed For Progress…

As I’ve mentioned before, it’s maddeningly  difficult to construct a compelling narrative for a blog post involving cleaning, painting and priming. Since there’s not much to talk about, I’m going to pretty much let pictures speak for me this week.

While the floor pan rust encapsulator was brushed on, the primer and paint is going to be sprayed. That meant I needed to tape up the front and rear windshield to prevent a bunch of over spray that I would only have to remove later.

I then continued where I left off from last week using the Eastwood Rust Encapsulator paint on the floor pans. I ended up putting two coats on and was really happy with the results:

rust encapsulated rear floor pans

rust encapsulated front floor pans

With the rust encapsulator put down and dried, it was time to break out the spray can primer in preparation for painting. First on the agenda was the roof and the sail panel.

Starting with this:

sail panel before priming

I sprayed my way to this:

sail panel after priming

I then turned my attention to the floor pans and got a first coat of primer on before I ran out of time for the day:

first coat of primer on back floor pan

I’m really happy with how this is turning out. This week I plan to apply a second coat of primer and to get started on replacing the seam sealer. I’m also going to work on priming   the cowl and the bottom of the seat pan. Time permitting, I’ll also work on the cowl and the bottom of the seat pan.

One thought on “Primed For Progress…

Leave a comment