Retrospective Electrical…

Project Electrical System started not long after the Mustang was declared mechanically safe to drive back in November. When I started, I had roughly half of my electrical system in a non-functional state:

Items that were not working:

  • Outer headlights (high beam)
  • Inner headlights
  • Dome light
  • Brake lights
  • Windshield wipers
  • Turn signals
  • Emergency flashers
  • Horn
  • Gas gauge
  • Temp gauge

As I reflect on the last few months working through fixing these issues, a few things jump out at me as being important learning experiences:

  1. Wiring diagrams are worth their weight in gold
  2. Don’t make assumptions that just because one thing has power on a circuit that everything on that circuit also has power
  3. Knowing a few fundamentals about electricity makes things go a lot easier

Now that it’s all said and done, the highlights of the last couple of months of work are many:

Blinky blinky lights on my hood:

An awesome new instrument cluster:
blue lighting on new instrument cluster

A new turn signal switch:
new turn signal switch
…which gave me a functional horn, brake lights and turn signals:

Working reverse lights:
led vs standard reverse light

A conversion to LED lighting:

A working radio/electric choke system:
working radio

And lastly: light, heat and power in my shop:

Project Electrical System was a lot of fun, but it’s now time to look ahead at the next phase of the restoration. There’s still a lot to do before the Mustang gets painted. I’ll have a post this weekend talking about what I’m planning.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Retrospective Electrical…

Leave a comment