That’s Not To Say No Progress Was Made This Week…

Sprinkler systems aside, there was some small progress on the Mustang this week.

NAPA auto parts made the mistake of sending me a 20% off coupon right about the time I was looking at getting a new alternator, power steering pump, voltage regulator and starter solenoid. Never one to let a good coupon go to waste, I procured my parts at discount prices!

In order to re-install the power steering pump I needed to remove a broken bolt from the pump bracket. This bolt was the only one we broke taking the engine out of the car:

power steering pump and pulleyHere’s a closer view:

close up of broken bolt in power steering pump bracketThe bolt was well and truly stuck in there and the only choice I had was to buy a new one or drill it out. Since I was all out of 20% off coupons, I went looking for my drill.

A few minutes of drilling a small pilot hole yielded promising results:

promising pilot hole in stuck boltDrilling a slightly bigger hole into the bolt finally made it collapse enough so I could rotate it out:

broken bolt outThe hole the bolt was stuck in was threaded. While drilling, I nicked a couple of the threads so I took a grade-8 bolt and threaded it into the slot. With a little persuasion, the bolt threaded in and reset the threads in the bracket nicely.

I then turned my attention to the bracket itself:

dirty power steering bracketLike most other things I’m putting back on the Mustang, it needed a little tender loving care. Brake cleaner, a wire brush and some sandpaper cleaned it up quite nicely:

cleaned up power steering bracketIt’s still not perfect and I may eventually paint it – but it’s good enough to be put on the car now and not be embarrassed.

Hopefully that’ll happen soon…

Leave a comment