Doing Something About It

Dateline: Sunday, November 23rd, 2014 – Craigslistcraigslist-backcraigslist-enginecraigslist-frontcraigslist-interior

69 mustang rebuilt trans 4 years ago car has sat current tags new brakes all around new lower control arms ball joints tie rod ends new heater core 302 motor factory disc breaks in front

Sometimes, the exact car you’ve been looking for falls in your lap. I’d been looking at Craiglist for a 69 Mustang project for a few weeks. I’d gotten so far as to find one in Kansas and ask for an internet quote for transport back to Oregon.

Never do this. Seriously. Never. You will get calls and emails for weeks from car transport companies.

As I sat there annoyed on Sunday night, I stumbled upon the post above. A 69 Mustang in what appeared to be great condition (as far as a project car is concerned) less than three hours from where I live. Thinking midnight might be a little late for a text message, I set an alarm for the next morning to call.

Tick Tock, Tick Tock – it was a long night…

As early as I could justify a text on Monday morning, I was contacting the owner of the car arranging for a visit the next day.

At O’Dark thirty on Tuesday morning, I set out with a borrowed truck and auto-transport for the long drive. I had my son with me to keep me company with 234,424 questions about cars, trucks and farts (don’t ask).

I had a spiel all planned for when I made an offer – if I was going to make an offer.

  • It needs a lot more work than the pictures indicated
  • There’s a lot of rust in wherever I found rust
  • You’re asking a little more than it’s worth, how about…

As I looked at the car, I found myself in a quandary. The Mustang was exactly as advertised. There was no rust. He was asking a fair price ($3500). Finally I settled on

I have to talk you down to something, would you take $3250?

An hour later, I texted my wife and brother in law that I was “coming home heavier”.

And so the journey began. I had my 69 Mustang and a very familiar starting point – a car with hideously ugly hub caps and an unmistakable smell of being left outside for too long. But it’s mine and I love it – and these too will pass…

Mustang Day 1

3 thoughts on “Doing Something About It

Leave a comment